We realize that there are quite a few terms that are unique to Pocket, so we thought we’d give you a little tour of some of the most common terms and feature names that you’ll see when using Pocket or reading our Help Articles.
Item – The name we use for a single article, video, image or web page that you have saved to Pocket.
Saves – When you save an item to Pocket, it is added to your Saves. You can access your Saves when you visit the Pocket website, as well as when you open the Pocket app on your mobile device. When you’re finished with an item, you can click the check mark button to send it to your Archive for safekeeping. Find how to view saved items on each of your devices.
Lists – Make folders in your Pocket account by creating lists. Combine lists and tags to organize your saved items.
Browser Extension – An Extension is an add-on to your browser that adds the Pocket button to your browser’s toolbar. This makes it easy to save the page you’re currently viewing in your browser to Pocket in a single click. Download the Pocket Browser extension to start saving.
Article View – Article View is Pocket’s simplified article layout that makes reading in Pocket enjoyable and free of distracting ads, fancy layouts and other extraneous things. You can customize the font, text size, theme, and more to meet your own unique reading style. Learn more about Article View.
View Original – View Original displays the page just as it would appear in its original form in your browser.
Pocket Premium – Pocket Premium is an optional subscription that upgrades your Pocket experience with powerful new features, so you can do even more with the content you love. Check out the Premium features!
Actions in Pocket
Archive – When you’re finished with an item but would like to keep it for future reference, you can send it to the Archive by clicking the checkmark icon. Archived items will still be available in Pocket, but are not downloaded to your device automatically. Therefore, you’ll need a network connection to view your Archive.
Delete – If you do not wish to keep an item, you can delete it by clicking the trashcan icon. This will permanently remove an item from your Saves. Deleted items cannot be recovered.
Favorite – For items that are important to you, can Favorite it by clicking the star icon. This will add a yellow star next to the item in your Saves and will also include this item in your Favorites list in Pocket.
Save to Pocket – Saving to Pocket is the simple act of adding an article, video, image or web page to your Pocket account. Sometimes we may refer to this as Add to Pocket as well. Learn more about all the different ways you can save to Pocket.
Add to List – Create lists to make folders in Pocket. This feature is currently available in our Web app only.
Thumbs Up / Thumbs Down – Click the Thumbs Up or Thumbs Down icon on the Pocket homepage to indicate if you found the content interesting. Note: This experimental feature is gradually being rolled out to users and may not be available to you at this time.
Listen (TTS) – Pocket uses the device's Text-to-Speech functionality, which delivers a pleasant and human-like listening experience. Use the TTS feature to listen to your articles.
Discover Feed – Items that Pocket sends to users that are tailored to your own saving and reading habits. Learn more about recommendations.
Highlight – Call out important quotes, facts, or anything you'd like to note from a saved article by highlighting it. Learn more about highlighting.
Parser – Pocket’s Article View is powered by our parser. This special software is responsible for identifying the article content (text, images, videos) and displaying it in Article View. The parser works very hard to capture the entire article, but sometimes it might have trouble. If you notice that the Article View is incomplete in Pocket, please let us know and we'll be glad to take a look.
Tags – Tags are perfect for organizing the items that you've saved. Learn more about tagging in Pocket.
Profile – The profile your curated list of items that you recommend. Your List, where your saved items are stored, will remain private, and only items you recommend are public. Learn more about your profile.