How do I know the status of my sync?

The Mozilla account toolbar menu icon lets you know when you are signed in and syncing Firefox data across devices.

Note: The icon you see when signed in FxA Icon signed in can be personalized with your own avatar.

How do I know my Firefox Sync status?

The toolbar menu lets you know your Mozilla account and Sync status:

Waiting for email verification

Fxa89waiting for email

If a blue dot appears in your account icon, a verification email has been sent but you haven't verified your account yet.

Signed out (not syncing)

If the account icon is missing, you are not signed in to your Mozilla account and your information is not syncing. To sign in to Sync, click the menu The image "fx89menuButton" does not exist. button and click Sign In next to Sync and save data.

Tip: you can also sign in from the Sync panel in Firefox settings: In the Menu bar at the top of the screen, click Firefox and then select Preferences or Settings, depending on your macOS version.Click the menu button Fx89menuButton and select Settings. Select Sync on the left and click Sign in to sync….

Signed in

If the first letter of your username appears in the icon, or if you see your personalized toolbar icon, you are signed in to your Mozilla account. Click the account icon to learn your Sync status. When Sync is enabled, you will see a Sync now menu item; Firefox will start syncing when you click it.

If Firefox is not currently syncing your information, Sync is disabled and you will see a Turn On Syncing… menu item; click it to open the Sync settings panel, where you can turn on syncing and choose what to sync.

How do I personalize the toolbar icon with a photo or other image?

  1. Click on the menu The image "fx89menuButton" does not exist. button, then click your Mozilla account.
    (You will need to sign in to your Mozilla account, if you are signed out.)
  2. Click Manage Account.
  3. In the Mozilla account page that opens, click the Add… button next to Picture.

Why am I signed in to my Mozilla account in Private Browsing?

If you open a private window while signed in to your Mozilla account, you will stay signed in on the private window so you can continue managing bookmarks, access your synced passwords and save new passwords while in Private Browsing.

Since your history is not recorded in Private Browsing, your Mozilla account will not pick up or sync your browsing history.

Was this article helpful?

Please wait...

These fine people helped write this article:

Illustration of hands

Volunteer

Grow and share your expertise with others. Answer questions and improve our knowledge base.

Learn More